Gmail - Adding/Removing Delegates

Overview/Introductions:

Staff in a department have a Google Resource Account and need a new staff member delegated to this email address so they can access the email address. Or Staff member has left the department or the college and no longer needs access to the email address.

Details:

To add new users, do the following:

  1. Open a private browsing window in your preferred browser (Ctrl + Shift + N in Chrome, Ctrl + Shift + P in Firefox).
  2. From your Google Mail account, log into the resource account in question using the password issued by Technical Services at creation.
  3. In the resource account’s inbox, navigate to the top corner and select the Gear icon, and then select the “Settings” option.
  4. Once in the Settings menu, select the “Accounts” option at the top of the screen, on the ribbon menu.
  5. Once in the Account menu, navigate to the “Grant access to your account” section at the bottom of the page and select the “Add another Account” link.
  6. A yellow box appears and prompts you for an email address. Enter the email address of the individual you wish to add, and then select Next Step.
  7. Confirm Email address in bold is accurate and then click “​​Send email to grant access.”
  8. Close the yellow window. Confirm new email address displays in the “Grant access to your account” section.

To remove a delegate user’s access, do the following:

  1. Open a private browsing window in your preferred browser (Ctrl + Shift + N in Chrome, Ctrl + Shift + P in Firefox)
  2. From your Google Mail account, log into the resource account in question using the password issued by Technical Services at creation.
  3. In the resource account’s inbox, navigate to the top corner and select the Gear icon, and then select the “Settings” option.
  4. Once in the Settings menu, select the “Accounts” option at the top of the screen, on the ribbon menu.
  5. Once in the Accounts menu, navigate to the “Grant access to your account” section at the bottom of the page and select the “Delete” option to the right of any user who should no longer have access to the account.

Accessing an account that has been delegated to you

After an email account has been delegated to you (or after you have been granted access), you can access that account from your own account by completing the following steps:

  1. Log in to your Google Mail account.
  2. In the upper-right corner of the page, select your account avatar (the circle with a photo, graphic, or your initial).
  3. From the drop-down menu, select the delegated account. A new window or tab opens and displays the delegated account.

FAQ:

Q: What if I don't know the password to the account?

A: You may submit a gmail service request and expect assistance with resetting this password.

See also:

 

If this article does not answer your question, please submit a Service Request.

 

0% helpful - 1 review

Details

Article ID: 83601
Created
Tue 7/23/19 8:04 AM
Modified
Mon 1/16/23 4:41 PM